Travel and Leisure




« Travel & Local « Downloads
Request an Update
Please Wait...
UpdatedJanuary 1, 1970
Installs103 times
CategoryTravel & Local


METRO (Subway)
The city of Osaka has a population of almost 3 million inhabitants. It is the centre of a metropolitan region with some 18 million people, including the cities of Kyoto and Kobe.

Osaka opened its first subway line (the first public metro in Japan) on 20 May 1933 between Umeda and Shinsaibashi. Most lines run along main streets and were built by the cut-and-cover method at low depth. In 2007, the eight subway lines reached a total length of 130 km with 123 stations. View complete history chart here.

Apart from the subway lines, which cross the city like a grid network, and the so-called new tram serving the waterfront, there are several suburban rail services operating in the metropolitan area, among them the Osaka Loop Line (21.7 km), which connects all subway lines, and the two Hankai tramway lines. As is common with other Japanese metro systems, some lines have a reciprocal service with suburban rail lines. In 2004, station numbers were added. Although no line numbers are used, lines are generally listed in the following order:

Midosuji Line
Esaka – Nakamozu
24.5 km, 20 stations, 9-car trains, on the surface north of Nishinakajima (includes Yodo river crossing)

20 May 1933 Umeda – Shinsaibashi

Tanimachi Line
Dainichi – Yaominani
28.1 km, 26 stations, 6-car-trains

Yotsubashi Line
Nishi-Umeda – Suminoekoen
11.4 km, 11 stations, 5-car trains

Chuo Line
Cosmosquare – Nagata
17.9 km, 14 stations, 6-car trains, elevated between Bentencho and Osakako

The section Osakako – Cosmosquare was part of the 3.7 km OTS “Nanko Technoport Line” (Osakako – Nakafuto), including a 2.2 km underwater rail/road tunnel; it opened on 18 December 1997, but was fully integrated into the Subway Chuo Line and the Nanko Port Town Line on 30 June 2005.

Sennichimae Line
Noda-hanshin – Minami-Tatsumi
12.6 km, 14 stations, 4-car trains

Sakaisuji Line
Tenjinbashisuji-6-chome – Tengachaya
8.5 km, 10 stations, 6-car trains

Nagahori-Tsurumi-ryokuchi Line
Kadoma-Minami – Taisho
13 km, 16 stations, 4-car trains

Imazatosuji Line
Imazato – Itakano
11.9 km, 11 stations, linear-motor trains

Content rating: Low Maturity

Post review


1 total
5 0
4 0
3 0
2 0
1 0
  • No reviews.
Current template: single.php