Travel and Leisure

TOKYO Subway Japan Metro HD


TOKYO Subway Japan Metro HD

« Travel & Local « Downloads
Request an Update
Please Wait...
UpdatedJanuary 1, 1970
Installs126 times
CategoryTravel & Local


The Tokyo Subway has 13 lines and is operated by two different companies: Tokyo Metro Corporation (formerly TEITO; also called TRTA or Eidan Subway – Teito Rapid Transit Authority) and TOEI (Transportation Bureau of Tokyo Metropolitan Government).

The first lines were built using international standard gauge (1435 mm) but later 1067 mm gauge was chosen, which is more common in Japan and thus allows reciprocal operation between subways and suburban railway lines, i.e. subway trains continue on suburban lines at certain hours or suburban lines use certain sections of the subway lines. Several JR and private suburban rail lines radiate from different stations in Tokyo.

TOKYO METRO Lines – Eidan Subway
6/2008 – 9 lines with a total length 195.4 km

GINZA Line (G)
14.3 km, 18 stations, Asakusa – Shibuya (Line 3); 1435 mm gauge; no reciprocal service.
The first subway line in Tokyo, opened in 1927 as a private railway between Asakusa and Ueno (2.2 km), extended to Shibuya by 1939.

27.4 km, 27 stations, Ikebukuro – Ogikubo / Honancho (Line 4); 1435 mm gauge; no reciprocal service, four short surface sections.

20.3 km, 21 stations, Kita-Senju – Naka-Meguro (Line 2); 1067 mm gauge; reciprocal service on northern suburban line (Tobu-Isezaki Line), while reciprocal service south on Tokyu Toyoko Line was discontinued on 15 March 2013.

TOZAI Line (T)
30.8 km, 22 stations, Nishi-Funabashi – Nakano (Line 5); 1067 mm gauge; at the western end, reciprocal service with JR Chuo Main Line; at the eastern end with JR Sobu Line and the Toyo Rapid Railway. The Tozai Line (which means East-West Line) runs on the surface east of Minami-sunamachi (13.8 km).

24.0 km, 20 stations, Yoyogiuehara – Kita-Ayase (Line 9); 1067 mm gauge; at the western end, reciprocal service with Odakyu Odawara Line; at the eastern end with JR Joban Line.

28.3 km, 24 stations, Wakoshi – Shin-Kiba (Line 8); 1067 mm gauge; from Wakoshi reciprocal service on Tobu Tojo Line; reciprocal service is also available from Kotake-mukaihara along the Seibu Ikebukuro Line.
Opened 1974 – 1988; in Dec. 1994, the Kotakemukaihara – Ikebukuro section was quadrupled, with the Yurakucho New Line introduced to relieve the Yurakucho Line. This line was extended south to Shibuya in 2008 and became the Fukutoshin Line.

16.9 km, 14 stations, Shibuya – Oshiage (Line 11); 1067 mm gauge; reciprocal operation with the Tokyu Den-en-toshi Line from Shibuya and with the Tobu Isesaki Line from Oshiage. The Hanzomon Line runs parallel to Ginza line between Shibuya and Aoyama-I-chome, but on separate tracks.

21.3 km, 19 stations, Meguro – Akabane-iwabuchi (Line 7); 1067 mm gauge.

The Namboku Line shares tracks with the Mita Line between Shirokane-takanawa and Meguro, from where both lines provide reciprocal service with the Tokyu Meguro Line.
From the northern terminus at Akabane-iwabuchi most trains continue along the mostly underground Saitama Railway, which was opened on 28 March 2001.

12.1 km, 11 stations (+ 5 stations share with Yurakucho Line), (Wakoshi -) Kotake-mukaihara – Shibuya (Line 7); 1067 mm gauge.
In Dec. 1994, a 3.2 km double-track section of the Yurakucho New Line (Kotake-mukaihara – Ikebukuro) (New Yurakucho New Line Ikebukuro Station) was opened to relieve the Yurakucho Line. Initially referred to as Line 13, it was eventually extended south to Shibuya on 14 June 2008 as the Fukutoshin Line (fukutoshin means subcenter > the line links the three subcenters of Ikebukuro, Shinjuku and Shibuya). At the northern end, trains continue to Wakoshi on the Yurakucho Line, and beyond that point on the Tobu Tojo Line); reciprocal service is also available from Kotake-mukaihara on the Seibu Ikebukuro Line. Reciprocal service from Shibuya south on Tokyu Toyoko Line to Yokohama began on 16 March 2013.

Content rating: Low Maturity

Post review


1 total
5 0
4 0
3 0
2 0
1 0
  • No reviews.
Current template: single.php